Books by Dave Whitaker

Check out Toolbox Training books and more at or David L. Whitaker's author page at

Sunday, June 14, 2015

June 14: Caldecott Medal first awarded (1937)

image from

According to the official Caldecott Medal page at, the Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.”

Caldecott Celebration


  • Caldecott-winning books (find a full list here)


  1. Collect as many Caldecott-winning books as possible. Work with your local or school library to see if you can check them out or come see them at the library.
  2. Kids can do their own contest to vote on which they think has the best illustrations. Get discussion going about why they like the illustrations that they do.
  3. How many of the books have the kids in your group read? You can see which child has read the most or see how many the group has read collectively.
  4. Which books look the most interesting just based on the cover?
  5. Ask the kids for other ideas for activities to do with the books.

Check out the full June calendar. It includes floating holidays, specialty weeks, and specialty months.

No comments:

Post a Comment